Aubade: Your Eyes

Standard

“In an age where there is much talk about ‘being yourself,’ I reserve to myself the right to forget about being myself.” Thomas Merton

When I look into the mirror
I see the perfect mime,
moving left or right, mimicing
my vanity as I comb thinning hair,
check wrinkled skin for new blemish,
try figure out who I am;

but when I look into your eyes
I see long drives, mountain roads
rising to clouds, ocean mist
washing clean the highest pines
as the eastern sky
grows bright with
morning.

Your eyes
enfold me.

Like the rising sun,
your love renews
my aging day.

(3 June 2012)

4 thoughts on “Aubade: Your Eyes

  1. My favorite poems are about long-time love, and this has now become one of my favorites. Love changes over time, I guess, but if it is true, the way it is as you express it in this poem, it has a sheen about it that goes to the very heart of the poet and his beloved. This is wonderful, Steven. I’m so glad you wrote it and so glad I have read it. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

