Psalm

Standard

“We must learn to respond not to this or that syllable, but to the whole song.”
Thomas Merton

You say
“be not afraid”
yet this darkness is
complete.

A well of silence lies
beneath my feet
as I try to feel
my way back to you.

How can I be brave
when all around me rush
rivers of anguish, tears
over-flowing life’s banks?

Terror fills the sky
in dark flashes
my sight declines,
and endless night
encroaches the edge
of vision.

Will you lift me
if I stumble
and fall?

Oh, call softly
and with seeing
fingers I’ll find
your healing
hands again.

3 thoughts on “Psalm

Leave a Reply

