Close By

Standard

close by,
in this empty room
I feel air lightly cross my lips,
rush to rising lungs,
mix with surging blood
and lengthen my life
by another breath.

Then I know how thin
the line between am
and has been.

But watching the sun decline
through windows of time
my wonder rises
as stars fill my widening sight
and I see how it will be
in eternity.

One thought on “Close By

  1. First, your poem made me breathe deeply – and secondly, it’s most beautiful writing, Steven.

    “the line between am / and has been” –

    Indeed, corporeal life is fragile. But you show us its insignificance when we see into eternity!

Leave a Reply

