Levi Becomes Matthew

Standard

The Calling of St. Matthew by Michelangelo Merisi da Caravaggio(1599-1600)

***

You call me out
of my money hole
and tell me to take you
to my home?
How can a rabbi like you,
so well known,
healer and
Anointed One,
come into my
unclean house?
But, please, come along,
at any rate, and
let me show you
my tawdry place!
All my friends see us
on the stony road
and ask to join
my sinner’s feast;
but after dinner
you gently teach
your painful path
to perfect
peace.

One thought on “Levi Becomes Matthew

Leave a Reply

